CHANGEd 60-60-60: CONTRIBUTE

Thinking about CHANGEd: What if clean up and campus care were curricular? 60-60-60 #9 and reflecting…

“Last year, I saw the documentary movie Race to Nowhere, and it opened my eyes to why I entered such a desolate period between 18 and 22. As I questioned my purpose, and I had come to understand that mine, up to that point, was superfluous. I didn’t know anything about how to take care of myself or be a contributing member of society, and this was really frightening.” ~ Peyten Dobbs in her post The Hardest Things I’ve Learned

“I didn’t know anything about how to take care of myself or be a contributing member of society, and this was really frightening.” An all too common reality…yet one that is only occasionally acknowledged and hardly ever verbalized. I’m proud of my friend for writing this series of posts and her The Hardest Things I’ve Learning: How to Feed Myself resonates as I think of Bo’s charge to make clean-up and campus care curricular.

I’d also like to make lunch “curricular.” Not the 22 minutes or the 25 minutes or the 30 minutes that we normally provide students. But an hour for lunch (Peyten would like an hour and a half). I’m excited to see what Steve Goldberg will do when his new school, Triangle Learning Community, opens in August 2013. He is planning to make lunch a curricular thing…and I suspect that he’ll consider making clean-up and campus care curricular too. And I doubt his students will be frightened. In fact, I suspect that they will be incredibly empowered…to contribute and in turn change themselves, others, and possibly the world.

Leave a Reply

