CHANGEd 60-60-60: COMPETING COMMITMENTS

Thinking about What if we committed to visiting our peers more often? 60-60-60 #47 and reflecting…

Bo’s 60-60-60 post sent me to my graduate school notebooks and deep into the online filing system of notes and reflections. I couldn’t find exactly what I was looking for, but one article comes to mind as we think about moving schools from independent to interdependent. I like that the first step of this shift can happen through formal and informal peer visits within an institution. Although that isn’t always easy to arrange, it’s an important step forward as all of us educators move toward greater interdependence. This reflection on an art-physics connection is an excellent example.

HBR’s Kegan & Lahey–The Real Reason People Won’t Change (Robert Kegan and Lisa Laskow Lahey) is a must-read and while it focuses on change-resistant employees, I think it applies to change-resistant schools as well. It’s about competing commitments and big assumptions. And I think we have plenty of those in our schools. While I’ve never tried the outline the authors suggest for getting at the heart of change with anyone other than myself, I like the approach and think it can be applied to institutions as a whol.

Wouldn’t it be interesting if a group of us independent school educators got together and first diagnosed the competing commitments in our institutions, then identified the big assumptions, and finally, spent time questioning those assumptions in order to, at some point, make steps toward testing — and maybe replacing — those assumptions and commitments? What if we tried? What’s the worst thing that could come of it?

One thought on “CHANGEd 60-60-60: COMPETING COMMITMENTS

  1. Failure, which is just a pause in our learning! Something tells me we are all going to get together and do this…just a matter of time and place. Hope I am there!

Leave a Reply

