CHANGEd 60-60-60: EMPATHY, THE DESIGN PROCESS, AND CREATIVE CONFIDENCE

Thinking about What if I were designing one more faculty meeting? 60-60-60 #50 and reflecting…

Bo writes about designing faculty meetings in his 50th CHANGEd post. In a FastCo Magazine article from last April David Kelley reflects on designing curious employees. I see these two posts as intimately connected…because both are about empathy and of course, the design process. There’s also a connection with the idea of developing creative confidence…and that’s something that I hope to continue to develop in myself and in others through my work with lower school students and faculty next year.

For the past ten years, I have been mostly a participant in divisional meetings. And now, as Bo closes the door on faculty meta-planning, I am just beginning to open that door as I start to envision and chart the path for the 2012-13 school year and my first as lower school principal.

At this point, there are only a few things I know for sure about my approach to faculty meta-planning:

  1. I’ll use empathy, the design process, and creative confidence in my thinking and planning. I’m not sure what exactly that will look like, but I do know that those concepts will guide my approach. After all, this is an image which many educators know all too well.
  2. I’ll fail, many times, in my attempts. But if I am to create a culture of risk-taking and prototyping, failure is necessary and an important part of the process. How I model overcoming failure (and truthfully, how I process failing with my perfectionist self) will be important as I seek to develop a rich and dynamic culture of learning and growth.
  3. I’ll lean on others and use their wisdom and experience as a trusted resource. Already, I see how I could tweak Bo’s #1-#5 ideas to fit my own purposes. The fact that I have his experience to draw from in addition to friends and colleagues here in Atlanta and all over the world (thanks to social media!) is an incredible gift.
  4. I’ll grow as a student, teacher, administrator, and design thinker. And it will be messy. And difficult. And rewarding. And every emotion under the sun. But it will be worth it.
Leave a Reply

