CHANGEd 60-60-60: GOOD READS AND AN UNEXPECTED CONVERSATION

Thinking about What if we used reading and Google Earth as springboards for interdisciplinary, global empathy? 60-60-60 #54 and reflecting…

I just “overheard” a conversation between two people who I don’t think know one another. I doubt they are reading each other’s blogs.  Kate (a Trinity Fifth Grader and blogger) and Mr. Adams (Westminster’s JH Principal and blogger) just engaged in a fascinating conversation that I feel like I overheard — but the truth is that I actually imagined and created a dialogue based on their two most recent blog posts.

Kate:

Lately I have been reading lots of books.  It’s mostly because of my kindle, but not completely.

Mr. Adams:

Some believe that technology is separating us, disconnecting us, making us less empathetic. I don’t think it’s about the technology. I believe it’s about the people behind the technology and the ways that we commit to using the technology.

Kate:

The problem with kindles and nooks is you can’t shop like you can in a real book store.  You don’t know what you want and what the latest and hottest book is.

Mr. Adams:

I believe technology can actually make us more connected, more together, more empathic. Tools can be used to build up or to tear down…to joyfully create or to tragically damage and destroy.

Kate:

Recently my friend from camp sent me an email about this great site called goodreads.com. She told me about it and it turns out you recommend at least 20 books and the computer gives you recommendations about books that you might be interested in.  You can also write messages back and forth between your friends and rate books from 1 to 5.  When you rate a book it sends a note to all your friends saying that you read that book and you rated it a certain amount of stars.  This website has changed my book reading.  Finally there are no more spending hours to find the perfect book.  Finally a solution.

Mr. Adams:

But it depends on the user, not the tool. I am thankful that I have many teachers who are showing me these lessons.

With technology, we invite many more teachers into our lives. And we have many more conversations than we ever thought possible. Here’s a link to Kate’s post to read the full thing (http://bit.ly/IY1e3Y).

Leave a Reply

